Stop using the children!

I see a new trend of using children to demonstrate how obvious an idea is. Except that whatever is being pointed out is generally not obvious, and often flat out wrong.

Have you seen the AT&T commercials? They infuriate me. ‘More is better’, ‘doing two things at once is better’, ‘bigger is better than smaller’. These are not universal truths. Eating more cake will often make you ill. Multitasking instead of focusing can lead to sloppy work. Lots of things are better smaller, phones and computers have been getting smaller and more usable for awhile now. I tend to yell at the TV when these manipulative and oversimplified commercials are on (yes, I talk to my television. Don’t judge me). Kids don’t know lots of things, like when to stop eating cake, this is why parents have rules.

20140112-183048.jpg
A couple of months ago I saw this doozy on Facebook. If you do not feel like clicking, it is a Ted talk posted on Realfarmacy titled ‘Kid destroys Monsanto in TED talk!’. I could go through specific arguments I said when I watched the video (yes, I talk to my iPad. Don’t judge me), but my real problem is the use of an 11 year old to prove how simple and obvious the answer is. Answers, real full answers, are rarely simple. Eff you TED and Realfarmacy for this manipulative propaganda.

20140112-183138.jpg
Making the rounds on Facebook this week is a young girl trying to grow a sweet potato vine. The potato from the grocery does not grow, the organic potato from the grocery does not grow, but the potato from the organic food market does. The lack of growth in the first two is attributed to bud nip, a chemical sprout suppressant. It seems a good experiment for a third grader, I would hope a teacher would approve and also point out that more investigation is necessary. Like finding out why bud nip is used as a really basic starter. Third grade experiments are great for starting to learn how things work, but I want a little more depth in experiments that are supposed to affect the way I live. At least a college education.

20140112-183224.jpg
So seriously, stop telling me ideas are so obvious even children know them to be true. Because kids are dumb, that is why they go to school and learn things. While we are at it, let’s make sure to teach them some critical thinking so they don’t fall for this shit. Maybe then it will stop.

Leave a Reply

